Sign In, Renew, Sign Up

Search AIA

Search AIA Go

2012 Thomas Jefferson Awards for Public Architecture

Page Tools

The Institute Honor Awards program recognizes achievements for a broad range of architectural activity to elevate the general quality of architecture practice, establish a standard of excellence against which all architects can measure performance, and inform the public of the breadth and value of architecture practice.View all 2012 AIA Awards Recipients.


Alexander Cooper

Alexander Cooper, FAIA


Alexander Cooper, FAIA is receiving a Thomas Jefferson Award for his work in the private sector for making a significant contribution to the quality of public architecture. As the head of Cooper, Robertson & Partners, the New York–based firm he co-founded in 1979, Cooper has been instrumental in the development of virtually all of New York City’s most revered public spaces, from Battery Park City and Ground Zero to 42nd St. and Lincoln Center.

Read more
Daniel J. Feil, FAIA

Daniel J. Feil, FAIA


Daniel Feil, FAIA, executive architect on the Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial Commission, has been awarded the Thomas Jefferson Award in category two, which recognizes architects employed in the public sector who have consistently produced or fostered high-quality public architecture.

Read more
Robert A. Peck

Robert A. Peck, Hon. AIA


Robert Peck, Hon. AIA, is the recipient of the Thomas Jefferson Award’s third category, which recognizes the role of elected officials, public administrators, and institutional leaders who through laws, policies, or advocacy encourage the production of high-quality architecture.

Read more

Footer Navigation

Copyright & Privacy

  • © The American Institute of Architects
  • Privacy