Sign In, Renew, Sign Up

Search AIA

Search AIA Go


Page Tools

Reed Insight and Community


      13 Architects Selected to Receive the 2012 American Institute of Architects' Young Architects Award

      Contact: Matt Tinder

      For immediate release:
      Washington, D.C. – January 23, 2012 –
      The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has selected 13 recipients for the 2012 AIA Young Architects Award. Young Architects are defined as professionals who have been licensed 10 years or fewer regardless of their age. This award honors individuals who have shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession early in their careers. The Young Architects Award will be presented to the recipients at the AIA 2012 National Convention and Design Exposition in Washington, D.C.

      You can view images and get more information regarding the recipients by clicking on their name:

      Timothy C. Bicknell, AIA

      Bicknell is an award winning architect whose incredible dedication to both community and craft has truly distinguished his career. This dedication is reflected by his work for both clients, including non-profit clients, while maintaining a deep commitment to AIA Minnesota and other community organizations.

      Brian Cavanaugh, AIA
      Throughout Cavanaugh’s 16 year career, he has demonstrated a unique commitment to the practice of architecture and playing a critical leadership role in his community. Cavanaugh’s work has won numerous design awards – including local, state, and national design awards.

      James M. Evans, AIA
      In a relatively short time, Evans has joined an elite group of Texas architects who demonstrate nationally recognized design excellence with a fundamental commitment to environmental stewardship. He is also involved heavily involved with AIA Houston volunteering much of his time.

      Shari G. Grant, AIA

      Grant’s nontraditional career as an architect, engineer and artist is focused on developing simple, functional yet beautiful designs using a personal approach and hand sketches. She has developed her individual practice to apply her knowledge and has created award-winning designs.

      Michael Halflants, AIA
      Halflants is a principal of Halflants + Pichette Architects and a tenured professor at the University of South Florida. He currently serves as the chair of the AIA Gulf Coast Chapter’s Committee on Design.

      Michael J. Hanrahan, AIA
      Hanrahan has been a key member of Clarke Caton Hintz for over fifteen years serving as lead designer and project manager for many of the firms notable and award winning projects. He has dedicated his time by serving on AIA New Jersey’s executive committee.

      Katie M. Harms, AIA

      Dedication, passion and thoughtful creativity are words that describe Harms. Her dedication is evident in many of the professional positions she has held both in the AIA and the community at large.

      Thomas Jacobs, AIA
      Jacobs has been contributing to the built environment throughout his 16 year career in ways that define leadership for the next generation of architects. He has been an integral part in the creation of some of the best buildings in Chicago.

      Hao Ko, AIA
      Ko brings his considerable talents to his role as Design Director for Gensler’s San Francisco architecture studio. His portfolio includes diverse architecture and master planning work for corporate, academic and institutional clients in the U.S. and Asia.

      Stuart Magruder, AIA

      Margruder has made significant impacts on the built environment through his willingness to put forth time and effort. He is currently working on developing methods for improving products while maintain the speed of installation and affordability.

      Adam Palmer, AIA

      Palmer is a passionate servant leader, guiding young people and building connections through his Young Architects Forum service. He has distinguished himself as an energetic liaison, inspiring young people to stay connected.

      Jonathan Penndorf, AIA
      Penndorf has consistently and enthusiastically contributed to improving the practice of architecture for young architects in Washington D.C. He founded the Emerging Architects Committee of the AIA DC Chapter, a highly successful outreach program for young members.

      Brad Tomecek, AIA

      Tomecek has have been involved in and donated time to many non-profit organizations including the AIA, Medicine Horse, Architects and Planners of Boulder, Habitat for Humanity, Special Olympics, State of Colorado Technical Advisory Board, Feed Denver, and the Urban Farm.

      About The American Institute of Architects

      For over 150 years, members of the American Institute of Architects have worked with each other and their communities to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings and cityscapes. Members adhere to a code of ethics and professional conduct to ensure the highest standards in professional practice. Embracing their responsibility to serve society, AIA members engage civic and government leaders and the public in helping find needed solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation and world. Visit


Footer Navigation

Copyright & Privacy

  • © The American Institute of Architects
  • Privacy